The Laughter (and the Medicine)

They say that laughter is the best medicine. Laughter is not the best medicine.  I can say this categorically because I spent yesterday watching sitcoms on Deja View, and it never helped my “situation”.

I really thought watching several episodes of The Golden Girls might help dull the pain. I did laugh out loud several times, and then I would cry out in agony from opening my mouth in a wide guffaw.

The Doc told me Friday that I likely have got the streptococcal pharyngitis, or Strep throat. Strep throat is a nice little contagious virus that affects your pharynx (the back of your throat) and your tonsils and makes swallowing difficult. It causes the lymph nodes on your neck to be swollen and tender.

I reported a fever of 38.3 Celsius, nausea, abdominal pain, weakness, chills, ear pain, back pain, neck pain, and headache to my husband, who was considerably less interested than Dr. Lee at the clinic.

My husband was also less enthused about having The Golden Girls in heavy rotation. He would prefer to be watching Olympic speed skating or downhill skiing; really anything that doesn’t feature wise cracking, sexually-active geriatrics. I had to keep reminding him that “laughter is the best medicine”. I said that Tylenol and zinc lozenges and over the counter cold remedies had not been working for me, and laughter was my only hope.

The Doc called around mid-day to confirm our suspicions and told me to start the Amoxicillin antibiotics for Strep. My husband offered to go the drug store to pick up the prescription as I was still reporting my symptoms on a regular basis, to anyone who would listen, and I think perhaps he needed a break.

While he was out I spread out on the chesterfield and watched another episode of The Golden Girls. I fell asleep briefly, and was awaken by my husband with the bag from the pharmacy. He turned off the television and handed me a glass of water and the pill.

A day later I can say without hesitation, medicine is indeed the best medicine. But laughter is a close second.

Leave a Reply

