The Email

I just received an email from my husband telling me he loves me, he’s thinking of me, he’ll be leaving work at the regular time, he’s having a good day, he had a can of soup for lunch, he can’t wait to come home, he is going to stop and pick up some delicious bread for dinner, and he would like to get intimate this evening (with me).

We both steal moments throughout the day to email each other about how our day is going, and keep the other informed about our emotional status. We like to communicate regularly but we are both employed full-time, so finding an opportune moment for a phone call sometimes proves difficult.

I’ve heard that this has become the norm, especially amongst couples with children. It’s easier to email your spouse about important matters than find time between dinner, laundry, dishes, bath time, reading to the children, and bed time for an actual discussion.

But it doesn’t just happen with spouses; email seems to have replaced all forms of communication. The telephone in our house rings once a week on Sundays when my mother-in-law calls. We have not received a hand-written letter since Fall 2008. I’ve never received a smoke signal, and I haven’t even been given any hand signals while driving in at least three weeks.

My mother has given up on trying to catch me at home on the telephone so she will email me a “hello” instead, and include any and all relevant information, and she always adds, “Dad says hi”. That way both parents get their greeting in and the weekly phone call is null and void.

My friends and I mainly communicate via Facebook, with an odd telephone conversation sprinkled in bi-monthly. Facebook messages are far more convenient than an actual email, which must have the obligatory paragraph (three to five sentences).

An email must include:

Hello. How are you? What is new? How is the family? Here is what I wanted to tell you. Here is what’s new with me. Here is another question. Talk to you later. Good-bye.

A Facebook message includes:

Here is what I wanted to tell you.

You can get straight to the point with Facebook.

The problem is, not everyone is on Facebook. My mother is, my Father isn’t. And my mother only updates her status once every two weeks, so email actually works best for our correspondence. And email is very convenient for most people as they can check their email at their convenience and respond accordingly. Or they claim they never received the email, and it was lost in the web of the wide world.

This works well when my husband comes home from work with that look in his eye and I just want to watch television. I just say, “I didn’t get the email”

Leave a Reply

