The Decade (I love the most)

If you are asking me to name my favorite decade it’s very easy.

I was only around for 8 months of the 1970s and it didn’t seem that great. However, I will say that Canadian supergroup Rush recorded their first self-titled album in 1974, and for that I am eternally grateful.

The 1980s were slightly better as the World Expo of 1986 visited the fair city of Vancouver, but that brought about its own issues (The Story of Regret).

I think that Y2K (aka, the “Millennium Bug”) really cast a shadow over the 2000s. Remember how scared you were? Remember how you filled your cupboards with tinned food and water? Remember how you closed out all your bank accounts and put all the money under your mattress? Remember how you wrote poems for your friends and family to tell them how much you’ll miss them after the robotic uprising? No? Just me then.

I feel as though it might be too early to comment on the 2010s. We are only three years in after all. I will say that this decade brought about a global financial crisis, which (personally) I could have done without.

You might be saying: “Wait, you forgot the 1990s. You skipped over them like a mountain goat skips over rock formations.”

To that I would say: “Patience, friend. As Vanessa Williams might say (sing), “(You go and) save the best for last…” And that (my friend) is why I have saved the 1990s for last.

The 1990s are absolutely, categorically, unquestionably… my favorite decade.

Wikipedia (an internet encyclopedia, which checks and re-checks their facts) states that, “the 1990s was characterized by the rise of multiculturalism and alternative media. Movements such as grunge, the rave scene and hip hop spread around the world to young people during the decade, aided by then-new technology such as cable television and the internet.”

And how!

I was fortunate enough to live through the 1990s from the ages of 11-21 and I have to say, it was “all that and a bag of chips” (which happens to be a slang term from the 1990s, and one that I would like to see make a return to the vernacular). There were scientific and technological breakthroughs almost every day*. It felt like anything was possible.

Someone once told me that people tend to find a decade they like, and stick with it, and I agree. I still sport flannel shirts, converse sneakers, and the “Rachel” haircut. I still listen to grunge music (Nirvana, Pearl Jam), and watch Seinfeld, and read Douglas Coupland books (Generation X!). I still regularly use 90s slang terms like, “dude” and “Whassssup”. And (of course), I still like to show off my tribal tattoo (when weather permits).

In my head… I know it’s the 2010s, but in my heart… it’s the 1990s.

***

*No sources – just a guess.

2 thoughts on “The Decade (I love the most)

Leave a Reply

