The Game (of Truth or Dare Jenga)

When I was about 18 or 19 years old I was given a game for Christmas.

I love games. I love making merry. I also love a good diversion (to help me forget the reality of this cruel, cruel world).

The game was Truth or Dare Jenga.

Truth or Dare Jenga is similar (pretty much exactly like) the original game of Jenga… a game that tests one’s mental ability and physical dexterity. There are 54 wood blocks, and players take turns removing them from a tower formation. The winner is the last person that removes a block without toppling the tower. In Truth or Dare Jenga, the blocks are red (dare), green (truth) and plain wood (blank).

On that Christmas morning, I was very excited to receive such a gift… I like games (some would say love), I like answering questions accurately, and I like displaying my courage.

I suggested we all play the game. However, my mother was busy preparing the Christmas dinner, and my sister was on the phone with her boyfriend. My father was the only available family member.

I don’t think either of us knew what we were in for.

We stacked the tower and I went first. I pulled a wooden block from the tower. It was red. It said, “Dance with a Broom”. That seemed easy enough. I went to the closet, grabbed a broom, swayed a little… Dare done.

My father pulled a block from the tower. It was also red. It said, “Yodel.” My father was very happy to yodel.

We took a few turns pulling blocks from the tower. They were not red or green.

Then it got awkward.

I pulled a green block… “What is the most fun you’ve had in the dark?” Well, if I had answered that question truthfully, it probably would have involved playing tonsil hockey with a boy in a darkened theatre. But I wasn’t about to tell my father about that! Instead I told him the most fun I’ve had in the dark was chewing Wint-O-Mint Lifesavers and watching them spark (A BOLD-FACED LIE).

My father then pulled a green block: “Have you ever been skinny-dipping?”

I did not want to know the answer. I also didn’t want to play the game anymore.

Before my father could saying anything, I quickly adjusted my position on the floor, purposefully jostling the table, thus knocking the tower down, and forfeiting the game… all for the sake of our relationship!

I quickly packed up the blocks, and tried to block out (pun intended) the whole awkward ordeal.

Leave a Reply

