The Jet-lag

I love jet lag.

You might be asking yourself, Why does Kim love jet lag?

Or, you might be asking yourself a bigger, more important question, like… WHAT IS THE MEANING OF LIFE?

I can’t help you with the meaning of life. I mean, I suspect it’s something about love and kindness and making the world a better place, and the love you take being equal to the love you make, but I can’t say for sure.

As for the first question:

I love knowing that I have at least two days of watching TV ahead (for transatlantic flights). This is exciting for me, because I don’t allow myself to watch TV during the day. I “work” from home (I don’t know why I put work in quotations – I’m not trying to minimize my efforts. I work very hard and I want everyone to know it), and I have found that TV is like meth, or like Lays Potato Chips… once you start, it’s hard to stop.

I love feeling sleepy, and being allowed to feel sleepy. This is exciting for me, because I don’t allow myself naps. Again, I “work” from home and napping takes away from the working. Naps are also like meth and Lays Potato Chips™.

I love having zero expectations. This is exciting for me, because I place very high expectations on myself. I love knowing that my brain is not working at 100%, so I should just sit back, relax, watch some TV and eat some Lays Potato Chips, while waiting for my circadian rhythm to adjust.

I love doing laundry. Is there nothing better in this world than folding laundry while watching a Golden Girls marathon on the Hallmark Channel? Answer: No.

I love slowly unpacking the souvenirs collected on the journey. I have learned the hard way that it is better to unpack your leaning tower (of Pisa) statuette slowly.

I love being able to take sleeping pills, without it being a “thing”.

I love feeling disoriented and fatigued. I love not having to do meth to get that “disoriented” and “fatigued” feeling.

Now to book another trip!

jet-lag-is-coming

2 thoughts on “The Jet-lag

  1. The Husband says:

    I only love jetlag on the return leg. Jetlag when you get to the destination you are going to (and have limited time in) is not as much fun.

Leave a Reply

