The Fan

I’m not talking about the kind that winnows grain, or the instrument used to produce a current of air, or even the movement of a peacock’s feathers to reveal his impressive plumage.

I’m talking about the enthusiastic kind of person that really, really loves a band or a musician or a sports team or a TV show or, in my case… a clever, winsome, geriatric* Jew**.

You might be thinking, “But there are a lot of clever, winsome, geriatric Jews, so which one are you referring to specifically?”

First of all, you’re right. There is no shortage of clever, winsome, geriatric Jews: Al Franken. Jerry Seinfeld. Rick Moranis. Harold Ramis. Jeff Goldblum, David Cross. Albert Brooks. Mel Brooks. Lewis Black. Paul Reiser. Paul Ruebens (Pee Wee). Don Rickles. The list goes on and on.

Second of all, I think you need to learn patience (and I’m not the only one who thinks so). Obviously, I was going to tell you who the clever, winsome, geriatric Jew was eventually. I didn’t mention it just to play games with you (or your heart). I mentioned it because I was introducing my subject, and sometimes when people introduce their subjects, they don’t immediately reveal who they’re talking about… they segue into their subject very subtly and skilfully…

Anyway, I’m talking about Larry David.

You know… the actor, writer, comedian and producer from such beloved television programs as Seinfeld, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Saturday Night Live, and Clear History.

You know… this guy:

27_happylarrydavid_lgl

I’ve been a big fan (not the kind that winnows grain) of Larry David and his “oeuvre” for a very, very long time*** so when I heard my favourite clever, winsome, geriatric Jew was going to be at an event in Beverly Hills last Thursday, I did what any fan (again, not referring to the instrument used to produce a current of air) would do… I purchased a ticket in advance and waited.

On the day of the show I went into my DVD collection and picked out Curb Your Enthusiasm Season 6****, hoping that I might get Larry David to sign it. I arrived early and found a seat in the second row.

Eventually, Larry David and Carol Leifer (another clever, winsome Jew that I happen to love, and who has written a great book called “How to Succeed in Business Without Really Crying”) walked out, sat down, talked, took sips from their bottled waters, talked a little more, made the audience laugh, and then it was all over.

I turned to my husband and said, “I’m going” and I walked right over to Larry David. I was nervous (he’s very clever and winsome) so I mumbled something about loving him, wearing the same shoes as him (Campers) and then I asked him to sign my DVD, which he did.

GetAttachment.aspx

Like the best foreplay, it was over in about 30 seconds.

Now I don’t know why fans feel the need to profess or demonstrate their love for their favourite band, musician, sports team, TV show or, in my case… a clever, winsome, geriatric Jew… but I felt the need.

Sometimes I wonder if Larry David was equally excited to meet and interact with me? And then I think, “no… probably not.”

GetAttachment-1.aspx

He does look interested though, doesn’t he?

+++

* The term “geriatric” might have negative connotations for some, but for me it means: seasoned, mature, wise, practiced, and eligible for discounts!

** Yes, I’m mentioning that he’s a Jew. There’s nothing wrong with mentioning his religious and cultural affiliation (in my opinion). Also, because I might possibly be Jewish, I feel like it makes it extra okay.

*** 16 years

**** I choose Season 6 because bringing Season 6 sends Larry a message, and the message is this: “I’m a true fan (again, not referring to the movement of a peacock’s feathers to reveal his impressive plumage) because I have all 8 seasons on DVD and I know that you know that and admit it, you’re impressed.”

+

2 thoughts on “The Fan

  1. emmabarrett1508 says:

    Of course he thought you were awesome, because you are! I know you want to be a screenwriter but you really should think about putting your blog posts into a kind of novel. They are very funny. Xx

Leave a Reply

