The Sister

You know all those ridiculously sentimental quotes about sisters that they write in birthday cards, engrave on wall plaques, and cross-stitch on pillows?

Example #1:

I think this pillow is trying to say something.

I think this pillow is trying to say something.

Example #2:

"Beloved angel" might be pushing it?

“Beloved angel” might be pushing it?

Example #3:

I don't fully understand this quote, but I definitely agree that there are similarities between sisters and birds without wings (flightless birds).

I don’t fully understand this quote, but I definitely agree that there are countless similarities between sisters and birds without wings (flightless birds).

Sometimes people feel inclined to make grand declarations about their sisters, and post messages like these on social media with the directive “Share if you have the best sister in the world”.

First of all, there can only be one “best sister in the world”, officially.

You can have a good sister, or even a great sister (or, a terrible sister), but is she really, honestly, absolutely, with certainty – the “best sister in the world”?

If only there was a way of knowing whether your sister is the really “best sister in the world”… (if only there were a set of questions or a quiz, which could definitively answer this)…

Oh, here’s one:

How to know if your sister is the “best sister in the world”?

  1. Has she given you an organ (I don’t mean the kind of keyboard instrument, I mean the part of your anatomy that keeps you alive… like, a kidney or pancreas)?
  2. Has she recently come into a windfall and bought you a Mercedes-Benz S-Class, as a token of her love?
  3. Has she won any sort of award that is recognised by an accredited international agency or society, acknowledging her work as a “sister” and received a medal, trophy or plaque at a ceremony, attended by at least one diplomat?

If the answer to all of the above is “no”, then you really shouldn’t go around making those kinds of sweeping statements or claims.

Also: I have the best sister in the world.

I really do.

Sorry if you thought that you did… But, you don’t (because I do).

My sister is the best sister in the world (I’ve been told that she’s also a pretty good daughter, mother, wife, etc.).

I’m very fortunate to have “the best sister in the world”… I know this!

I didn’t always know this…

Like, when I was a teenager… I didn’t know this.

When I was a teenager I thought my sister was pretty cool, but I didn’t like her (and I don’t think she liked me). I was jealous of her freedom, car privileges, boyfriend with an earring, and her huge bangs.

We just didn’t appreciate each other.

She didn’t appreciate me harassing her or following her around, or stealing her clothes, or playing pranks on her.

I didn’t appreciate her avoiding me.

This seems accurate:

#Truth

#Truth

Now, as a fully grown, mature (might be pushing it?) adult woman… I really, fully and truly appreciate having “the best sister in the world”.

My sister and I share the same two kooky parents, we share the same childhood memories, we share the same sense of humour, we share the same cultural references, and we both lived through having spiral perms for the better part of the 1980s.

I know who I can turn to… for advice, for good company, for a hug, for a laugh, for encouragement, for support, and for no reason at all.

Also, she’s a fabulous cook… Proof: MINT GREEN APRON.

When I want to laugh, I know that I just have to play one round of “Heads Up” and tears will be streaming down my cheeks. Good, joyful tears. They don’t call her “No Points Michelle” for nothing.

Love you sis.

When having a little sister was still a novelty...

When having a little sister was still a novelty…

One more:

Good question.

Good question!

Leave a Reply

