The Niece

My sweet and perfect niece Madeline was born on September 13, 2005… 11 days after attending her first concert (Pearl Jam), whilst still in her mother’s uterus.

I remember the day she was born. I got the call from my sister, went directly to the bus (stopping only at Max’s Deli on Oak Street for a coffee and muffin), and rode the number 17 bus up to the hospital, ugly-crying tears of joy. When I saw that little bundle, I fell in love.

I continue to be in awe of what an awesome, bright, caring kid she’s become.

I wanted to share a few highlights of being an aunt to one of the coolest people I know…

1. This letter to Santa… (2010)

IMG_0964

2. This Easter card envelope, which educated us on cupids… (2011)

IMG_0993

3. Queen’s wave, with a giant bird (2011).

IMG_3986

4. This portrait, which melted my heart (2012)

IMG_0978

5. The fact that every year for Christmas she asks for a loaf of sourdough.

IMG_5164

6. This crazily detailed map of her and her brother’s ideal house, complete with “panic room”, “sad room”, and “mush room” (2013).

IMG_2199

7. The fact that at (almost) nine years old she’s read more books than any adult I know (2013).

IMG_1973

8. Easter letters, and knowing that Some Bunny loves me (2013).

img_1053

10. Our family wouldn’t be complete without her!

IMG_8685                        Photo courtesy: http://www.meganpiket.com

BONUS (and possibly my favorite sign Madeline has ever made)… Madeline made this sign Christmas 2011. We weren’t sure if we were going to be able to come home for Christmas due to finances, but then we did… hence the “No Broken Hearts”.

It reads: No Broken Hearts. Good Afternoon, Merry Christmas and Welcome! I knew I would see you at the airport! 

400652_10151077105920174_87846659_n

Happy birthday to my superfantasticscrumdiddiliumptiouswhizzpoppinggloriumptious niece Madeline. We love you big time!!!

Leave a Reply

