The Stan Smith

WARNING: For those of you expecting a humorous, satirical essay… look away now. This is a sappy, sentimental blog post dedicated to one of the best guys I know…

Stan Smith.

I’m not talking about these awesome sneakers.

 Unknown

I’m also not talking about this tennis player from the 1970s, although I can understand why you’d think that… (because his name is also Stan Smith).

 080731_StanSmith_1971_h

I’m talking about this guy…

538335_10150841555606213_1177858089_n

Stan Smith.

He’s my Grandpa and he’s turning 90 this week!

He was born in 1924… before World War II, rock n’ roll, the moon landing, and the internet!

Yes, at 90 years YOUNG, he may be considered an “antique”, but he’s still sharp as a tack and has more energy than people half his age!

When people meet my Grandpa they immediately love him. Not only is he friendly, kind, compassionate, warm and incredibly wise… (this list could go on and on and on), he’s got this indescribable brightness in his eyes… I’m pretty sure he’s an angel.

After my Grandfather’s mother passed away in childbirth, his Grandmother Annie stepped in to raise him. Annie was an incredibly strong woman with a gift for poetry. My Grandfather wrote about her life in his book, The Life and Lines of a Pioneer. 

An excerpt from one of her poems, “An Angel Unawares” seems fitting:

As he sat unfolding the scriptures

And told of God’s goodness and grace,

A light of reflected glory

Shone on his dear old face

 

The theme of God’s goodness and mercy

Was the one he loved to record,

No teacher on earth has taught him

But I knew that he walked with the Lord.

Like my Great-Grandmother Annie (and me!), my Grandfather is a writer. He shared his wisdom and experience with several published books, including Coping with Life Victoriously.

I have learned (and continue to learn) so much from my Grandpa Smith. Our weekly phone call is always the highlight of my day, as he continues to be such a great source of advice, encouragement, love, and support.

One of the things I love most about my Grandpa is his laugh… it’s always genuine and generous… kind of like him.

My Grandpa has had a fascinating life… he served for almost twenty years as a pastor before becoming a probation officer. He went on to work as a prison chaplain, before eventually returning to pastoring a church. He devoted his life to others, and continues to bless others wherever he is.

He’s my mentor, my guide, my hero and my friend.

Love you Grandpa! IMG_2864

He’s also an amazing gardener… check out that pumpkin!

1982061_10154137087540174_9081318894068808292_n

Young Stan and young Elsie with even younger Linda!

IMG_3646

FaceTiming with Gramps!

328209_10151200738950174_1841329047_o

My mom and I hugging our special dads.

One thought on “The Stan Smith

  1. emmabarrett1508 says:

    I love this post Kim. Your Grandpa sounds amazing. I have one nan who I am very close to and my other nan died before I was born. I missed out on having a grandfather as wonderful as yours because my dad’s dad was an alcoholic who was never very interested in any of his grandchildren and my mother’s father left my nan (the one i’m very close too) to raise five children all by herself. It’s probably one of the reasons I look up to her so much, I don’t think I could raise five children on my own. I seriously need some gardening advice from your grandad. I have never been able to grow a pumpkin anywhere near the size of your grandpa’s one. Wow! It’s probably why I love Charlie and the Chocolate Factory so much, because I missed out on a Grandpa Jo in my life. He must be where all your writing talent comes from. Take care of him. He is one special grandpa. Emma xx

Leave a Reply

