The Fuss

I guess it’s true. You don’t know if you like something until you try it.

Something might be the best thing on earth, but you won’t know unless you try it.

Saying that, there are several things that I refuse to try. They might be the best things on earth… they might change my life and make me a better person, but I am not going to find out. Examples: lobster (I’m very allergic), skydiving (I’m very afraid of heights), meth (I like having teeth).

Recently I tried two new things, and I loved them both. Like, really loved them… Like, loved them enough to write a blog about them.

The first is Hawaii.

I used to think that people made an undue fuss about Hawaii. I thought Hawaii was just beaches and palm trees and a wonderful climate.

Having recently moved to Southern California, I thought I had it pretty good. I thought that it didn’t get much better than SoCal. I already have blue skies, sandy beaches, palm trees and a wonderful climate. So why would I ever need to go to Hawaii?

How wrong was I? Answer: Very.

Now I know what all the fuss is about.

Hawaii is literally the best place on earth. I’m so glad that someone (or two) convinced me to book a trip to Hawaii.

Like California, Hawaii has amazing beaches and palm trees and a wonderful climate. But Hawaii is so much more than the sum of its parts… It’s epic sunsets, cool breezes, drinking Mai Tais, swimming with massive sea turtles, and the aloha spirit. It’s bare feet, no make-up, wearing your swimsuit all day, and finding yourself smiling for no reason.

Hawaii: I get it.

The second is jazz.

I used to think that people made an undue fuss about jazz. I thought jazz music was just noise made with horns.

Having grown up with grunge rock, alternative rock and plain old rock, I thought I knew what music I liked. I already have an extensive collection of music, so I didn’t think I needed to expand my horizons.

How wrong was I? Yes, very.

Now I know that al the fuss is about.

I’m so glad that Amazon didn’t take my previous purchases into account at all, and recommended Miles Davis’ Kind of Blue.

Jazz music is literally making my world better.

Like rock, jazz has its roots in rhythm and blues, and incorporates a variety of musical instruments. But jazz music is so much more than the sum of its parts… It’s romantic, surprising, eclectic, and whimsical. It’s making me feel elated and melancholy at the same time.

Jazz: I get you too.

Also, avocados: Turns out, I like you too.

Unknown

(Not to the extent I would get a tattoo like this person did… but still, a lot.)

One thought on “The Fuss

Leave a Reply

