The Writer

I was getting my taxes done last week and my accountant Morty asked me a question: “Are you really a writer, or is it more like a hobby?”

I can understand his position. He has signed the accountant’s pledge of honesty, and he is responsible for ensuring the accuracy of a person’s state and federal tax return. I’m sure there are a lot of people coming into H & R Block claiming to be a writer, when they’re really just taking BuzzFeed quizzes all day.

That’s not me!

(Not to say I don’t occasionally take BuzzFeed quizzes… A person would have to be a heartless, humorless fiend not to enjoy their quizzes!)

But I’m definitely not one of those people. I might take one quiz a day (FYI: today was Which Portlandia Character Are You?), but then I’m right back to work, writing this blog, screenplays, short stories, sketches, the occasional joke, hilarious tweets, thought-provoking emails, and of course, my book OH NO YOU DIDN’T, which is now available on Amazon.comAmazon.co.ukand Amazon.ca.

(FYI: I’m Nance.)

Oh, and I write for at least 30-40 hours a week. I take writing and improvisation classes. I go to networking events. I subscribe to magazines that have more words than pictures. I sit in an office chair for most of the day. I’ve written 212 blog posts. I have a Master’s Degree in Screenwriting. I wear black-framed glasses.

So yeah Morty, I’m a real writer!

#boom

#writer

#Morty

#hashtag

 

Leave a Reply

