The Bill Withers Song

A few weeks ago there was a week (I do know that there are weeks almost every week, but I’m speaking about one particular week, a few weeks ago) whether I heard the song, “Lean on Me” everywhere… At the grocery store, on the radio, in TJ Maxx. Everywhere… (okay, not everywhere but in lots of places)…

It’s a pretty great song to hear everywhere (in lots of places). The song is pretty encouraging and it’s got a funky beat that just won’t quit. It was one of my favorite songs growing up.

You might be thinking, “It’s weird that your favorite song as a 8 year-old child in Northern British Columbia was a piano ballad by Bill Withers.”

Well, to you I would say that even as a child, I was wise beyond my years, and mature enough to appreciate the depth and beauty of those heartfelt lyrics, and that 8 year-old Kim Manky felt those heartfelt lyrics deep in that heart of hers (mine – I don’t know when I switched to third person)…

Sometimes in our lives we all have pain (true)

We all have sorrow (also true)

But if we are wise 
(if)

We know that there’s always tomorrow (unless there’s an Armageddon-type situation)

Lean on me, when you’re not strong (I could possibly help)

And I’ll be your friend (sure, unless you’re crazy)

I’ll help you carry on (will do)

For it won’t be long
 ’til I’m gonna need
 somebody to lean on (I might)

You just call on me brother when you need a hand (or help with something)

We all need somebody to lean on
 (sometimes)

I just might have a problem that you’ll understand 
(I’m good at math, calculus, etc)

We all need somebody to lean on (sometimes)

If there is a load you have to bear 
that you can’t carry
 (like boxes or bags of things)

I’m right up the road (I live in Glendale)

I’ll share your load (I can carry a box or bag)

If you just call me (818-649-1084)

Call me if you need a friend… (or if you just want to go to the movies or something)

See? I totally get it.

Because it’s true. We all need someone to lean on sometimes… For instance, when you’re crazy drunk, or you’ve broken your leg, or you were born with one of your legs longer than the other one, or you’re changing your shoes and you don’t want to get your sock dirty, or you’re dizzy from spinning, or you’re just really tired… There are a lot of reasons that you might need someone to lean on.

If you don’t have someone to lean on, you’ll fall over… and if you’re standing near a lake or the edge of a cliff, it could get really dangerous.

So, just call me.

Leave a Reply

