The Feeling

Usually at this time of year my house is full of Christmas paraphernalia, my freezer is full of cookies, and my heart is full of that gooey, sentimental and slightly teary feeling that one gets when one watches a soldier return home from war or when Oprah gives someone a car.

Christmas is a big hairy deal to me.

I love Christmas. BIG TIME… The music. The food. The smells. The mall Santas. The tinsel. The gatherings. The cocktails. The specialty items at Trader Joe’s (Cranberry Gingerbread Granola!!!). The giving. The receiving… All of it.

Christmas is a reminder of the goodness, and hope, and magic, and love, and togetherness that exists in this world.

There is no other holiday like it. Easter? Not quite. July 4th? Not even close. Arbor Day? Please.

So, I think we can all agree that Christmas is the best holiday then?

This is where my dilemma lies.

This year feels a little bit different, because I’m feeling it a little bit less. I want to feel it more, but for some reason I’m feeling it less.

Perhaps it is due to the fact that I’ve just moved, and things are weird, and I’m getting used to this weather, and I’m feeling discombobulated, and I still have boxes to unpack, and I’m looking for a job, and I feel this weird pressure to put on a happy face, and deck the halls, and celebrate… because Christmas comes but once a year!

I want that feeling.

I want to feel warm and gooey inside.

So I’m looking at The 35 Most Touching Photos Ever Taken and 35 Pictures That Prove The World Isn’t Such a Bad Place and 19 Kids Who Restored Your Faith in Humanity and this Inspiring Father Explaining the Paris Tragedy to His Son and 33 Heartwarming Photos That Will Make Any Bad Day a Whole Lot Better.

And this one:

sweet_images_that_will_warm_your_heart_38

Oh.

There it is.

That feeling.

 

 

One thought on “The Feeling

Leave a Reply

