The They Sayers

They say that time is money.

They say Rome wasn’t built in a day.

They say, “a midget standing on a giant’s shoulders can see much further than the giant.” (That one was actually Jay-Z.)

They say that money can’t buy happiness.

They say that there are plenty of fish in the sea.

Who are they?

Who are these people who keep saying things?

And why don’t they try and take credit for the things that they say? These wonderful phrases are a part of our vernacular, and they float around the internet with the tag “unknown.”

“They” (whoever they are) could be reveling in their notoriety.

I’m all about taking credit for the things that I say, and the words and phrases that I have invented.

Wacky bat nuts? That’s mine.

Barf bag ripper? Me. And it’s trademarked.

(I can’t think of a third example.)

I would love to become famous for the phrases I came up with. In fact, I should try to think of more phrases that might earn me a reputation for being intelligent, thoughtful, and witty.

Here goes…

Time is not necessarily money, but effort can equal dollars. (Hmmm.)

Rome was probably built in a few years. (It makes sense.)

A midget shouldn’t stand on a giant’s shoulders, even if he wants to. (It’s dangerous.)

Money can buy you lots of things, which might make you happy. (It’s worth a try.)

They are all kinds of mammals in the sea. (This is what I’ve heard.)

So, there… I’ve done it. I’ve come up with several new phrases that I’m sure will catch on like nobody’s business… I’m sure they will trend, or go viral, or whatever it is that things do.

Admittedly, they may not be quite as good as the phrases on which I based them, but they are phrases nevertheless.

Come to think of it, I’m sure it’s very upsetting for people to look up those phrases, and have it say “unknown.” I’m sure it’s very similar to not knowing the reason for our existence on this planet, why pigs can’t look up to the sky, or not knowing whether something contains “gluten.”

No one is taking credit for the original phrases – so, perhaps I should just go ahead and take credit for those phrases? (Except the Jay-Z one, obvs.)

People want to know! They want to put a name to a face, and a name to a phrase or quote.

So, if anyone asks… those are mine.

You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

