The Shoes

Sometimes you just need to go for a drive, and this morning was one of those times. I was feeling a little bit blah, the weather was a bit overcast and dreary, and it was the first day where it was very clear that summer is officially over (sorry for the hard truths), so I donned a coat, grabbed a Christmas CD (no – it’s not too early), and hit the open road.

As I pulled onto the highway, I saw a single shoe – a New Balance tennis shoe – lying by the side of the road, and I thought to myself, “How does someone lose a tennis shoe on a highway? How does any scenario end with a tennis shoe being lost on a major thoroughfare?”

I quickly forgot about the tennis shoe, as I drank my coffee and sang along to Angels We Have Heard On High (really, it’s not too early). The clouds parted a little bit, the sun peeked through, and it felt like everything was right in the world.

And then I saw a black rubber boot lying on the side of the road.

Again, I thought to myself, “What situation calls for a black rubber boot to be thrown from a moving vehicle? And if you were to accidentally lose one of your rubber boots from a vehicle, would you not pull the aforementioned vehicle over to go back and get said boot?”

I quickly forgot about the boot, as I focused on the road (I was not at all distracted by singing along with the Christmas music and doing actions with my hands and body).

Less than a mile later I spotted a single flip-flop, lying on the shoulder.

WTF.

Seriously.

I looked at the flip-flop and thought to myself, “What happened to the person who was once the proud owners of this flip-flop?! And what about the other flip-flop?! Did the owners toss it, thinking it would never be reunited with its wayward twin?!”

 

Life is full of mysteries – like, WHY ARE WE HERE – but I feel like I really need to know why there are so many single shoes lying along the side of the road.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

